As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Walk & Travel
Best Dog GPS Trackers
Most dog GPS trackers come with a subscription and a size range, and some "no monthly fee" ones work very differently. Here are four compared on what the listings state, with the trade-offs named up front.
By Alex Rivera · Updated October 2026 · 7 min read
Written by a pet owner, not a content mill. For each pick I check the real product listing, materials and size, and recurring complaints in customer reviews where available, then name who it is not for. No brand pays me to rank picks. How I choose.

Quick answer
Decide the subscription question first. The Tractive XL listing says a subscription is required (the standard Tractive listing does not spell it out, so confirm on that page) and the Life360 requires one, with 12 months included for new and free members, while the Nilone lists no monthly fee and no SIM card and works with Apple's Find My on iOS devices. After that, match the model to your dog's size: the standard Tractive is listed for dogs over 8 lb and the XL for dogs over 44 lb.
- Settle the subscription first: the Tractive XL and Life360 listings require one, and the no-fee option is a different kind of device, not a cheaper version of the same thing.
- Check the listed dog weight: the standard Tractive is listed for dogs over 8 lb and the Tractive XL for dogs over 44 lb.
- A tracker shows a location; it is not a substitute for a secure fence, a leash or an ID tag.
This guide contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. See our disclosure.
A dog tracker sounds simple, but the listings hide the part that matters most: how the location reaches your phone. The Life360 and the Tractive XL list a subscription and, for the Life360, cellular coverage. The Nilone lists no SIM card and no monthly fee and works with Apple's Find My, so check how it reports location.
The four below cover those two groups. We compare them on what the listings state: the subscription, the dog size, the battery and the phone they work with. Prices change often on Amazon, so we do not print one here; check the live price and the return window on the listing before you buy.

Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker
Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker: live location, virtual fences and up to 14 days of battery, for dogs over 8 lb.
See price
Tractive XL Smart Dog GPS Tracker
Tractive XL: listed for dogs over 44 lb, with up to 6 weeks of battery.
See price
Life360 Pet GPS Tracker
Life360 Pet GPS Tracker: GPS, LTE and Bluetooth, with a 12-month subscription included for new and free members.
See price
Nilone Dog Tracker with Find My
Nilone tracker: no monthly fee and no SIM card, works with Apple's Find My, no SIM card.
See priceCompare our picks
| Item | Best for | Price | Bottom line | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best Overall | $$ | A mainstream collar tracker for dogs over 8 lb. Decide first whether you are fine with a subscription, then check your dog's size and your local coverage. | See price | |
| Best for Large Dogs | $$ | The XL option for dogs over 44 lb with the longest battery listing here. The subscription is the main thing to weigh. | See price | |
| Best for Life360 Users | $$$ | A good fit if you already live in the Life360 app. Mark the renewal date for the subscription before you start. | See price | |
| No Fee, iOS Devices | $ | A low-cost option for iOS devices with no subscription. Understand how it reports location before you rely on it. | See price |
How to choose a dog GPS tracker
Start with the subscription and the connection, because they decide the rest. Then check that the tracker is listed for your dog's weight, how long the battery is listed to last, and which phones the app supports.
Five checks before you choose
- Subscription: whether one is required, what it covers and when it renews
- Connection: whether the tracker has a SIM and cellular data, or works through a phone app
- Dog size: the weight range in the listing
- Battery: the listed battery life, which varies a lot between models
- Phone: whether it works with your iPhone or Android and needs a specific app
The best overall pick: Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker
The standard Tractive is a collar tracker with live location, virtual fences that send an alert when a dog leaves a set area, location history and bark monitoring. The listing gives up to 14 days of battery, calls it fully waterproof and says it suits dogs over 8 lb.
Who should skip it: anyone who does not want a subscription, since the maker's XL listing says one is required, or anyone with a dog under 8 lb. Confirm the plan and the cancellation terms on the listing.

Tractive Smart Dog GPS Tracker
A collar-mounted tracker with live location, virtual fences, location history and bark monitoring. Listed for dogs over 8 lb with up to 14 days of battery.
For large dogs: Tractive XL
The Tractive XL is the same kind of tracker sized for dogs over 44 lb, with up to 6 weeks of battery listed. The listing says a subscription is required, covering the built-in SIM and data, and offers a 30-day money-back guarantee.
Who should skip it: owners of dogs under 44 lb, since the standard model is the one sized for them, and anyone who does not want a subscription.

Tractive XL Smart Dog GPS Tracker
The XL Tractive, listed for dogs over 44 lb with up to 6 weeks of battery, live location and a virtual fence. A subscription is required.
For Life360 users: Life360 Pet GPS Tracker
The Life360 tracker uses GPS, LTE and Bluetooth, according to the listing, with virtual fences and escape alerts, up to 14 days of battery and an IP68 water-resistant design. It includes a 12-month Life360 Silver subscription for new and free members, which auto-renews after 12 months, and it needs the Life360 app and cellular coverage.
Who should skip it: anyone who does not want an auto-renewing subscription or another app, or who walks where there is no cellular coverage.

Life360 Pet GPS Tracker
A tracker using GPS, LTE and Bluetooth with virtual fences, escape alerts and up to 14 days of battery. Includes a 12-month subscription for new and free members.
The no-fee option: a tracker with no SIM card
The Nilone is the no-fee option: the listing says no monthly fee and no SIM card, and that it works with Apple's Find My app on iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. With no SIM card, it has no cellular plan to pay for. It also lists location history, safe-zone reminders, an IP68 rating and two cases.
Who should skip it: anyone who uses Android, or who wants a tracker with its own cellular connection. The listing does not describe how it reports location beyond Find My, so check that before relying on it.

Nilone Dog Tracker with Find My
A no-monthly-fee tracker with no SIM card that works with Apple's Find My, with location history, safe-zone reminders and an IP68 rating. The listing mentions iOS devices and no SIM card.
How the four trackers compare
The fastest way to choose: pick the subscription model you want, then match the dog's weight.
| Tractive standard | Tractive XL | Life360 | Nilone | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Subscription | Required per the maker's XL listing; confirm | Required, per the listing | Required; 12 months included for new and free members | None, per the listing |
| Listed for dogs | Over 8 lb | Over 44 lb | Not stated | Not stated |
| Battery (listing) | Up to 14 days | Up to 6 weeks | Up to 14 days | Not stated |
| Works with | Not stated | Not stated | Life360 app, iOS and Android | Apple Find My (iOS devices) |
| Price level (editorial) | Mid-range | Mid-range | Premium | Budget-friendly |
Prices vary by model, color, and current Amazon promotions, and subscriptions are billed separately by each maker. Check the real price and the plan terms on the product page before buying, we don't display fixed prices here.
Frequently asked questions
Do dog GPS trackers need a subscription?
The Tractive XL listing says a subscription is required and the standard Tractive listing does not spell it out, so confirm on that page. The Life360 listing says one is required and includes 12 months for new and free members. The Nilone lists no monthly fee and no SIM card, and says it works with Apple's Find My.
Which tracker is listed for large dogs?
The Tractive XL is listed for dogs over 44 lb. The standard Tractive is listed for dogs over 8 lb, and the Life360 and Nilone listings do not state a dog weight.
What is the difference between a GPS tracker and a Bluetooth or Find My tracker?
The Life360 listing says it uses GPS, LTE and Bluetooth and needs cellular coverage and a subscription. The Nilone listing says no SIM card and that it works with Apple's Find My, and it does not describe a cellular connection, so check how it reports location before choosing.
Will a tracker stop my dog from escaping?
No. A tracker shows a location and can send an alert when a dog leaves a set area, but it does not contain a dog. Keep a secure fence, a leash where needed and an ID tag as well.
Can I return a tracker if it does not suit my dog?
Check the return window on the Amazon listing before buying. The Tractive XL listing mentions a 30-day money-back guarantee, and subscriptions have their own cancellation terms.
How this guide was built
- 4 picks compared using Amazon listings and what customers write in their reviews. We don't physically test products.
- Price and availability, when shown, come live from Amazon with the time they were last checked.
- No brand pays to be featured or ranked higher. We earn a commission on qualifying purchases.
- Last updated October 2026.