As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Dog Water Fountains
Best Dog Water Fountains
A dog water fountain is mostly a question of tank size, material and how often you will be buying filters. Here are four compared on what the listings state, with the upkeep named up front.
By Alex Rivera · Updated October 2026 · 6 min read
Written by a pet owner, not a content mill. For each pick I check the real product listing, materials and size, and recurring complaints in customer reviews where available, then name who it is not for. No brand pays me to rank picks. How I choose.

Quick answer
For most dog homes, a 7L stainless steel fountain is the sensible size: the oneisall and the GROOKPET both give 7L, with a water-level window. Choose the SIBAYS (15L) if you want the longest listed time between refills and accept that the listing says to replace its filter every 1 to 3 weeks. Choose the PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum (5L, plastic) if you have a small dog or a mixed dog and cat home and want that brand.
- Decide the tank size first: the four listings range from 5L to 15L, and a bigger tank means fewer refills but a bigger footprint.
- Price the filters before you buy: the SIBAYS listing says to replace its filter every 1 to 3 weeks.
- The pump noise figures (25 dB or under on three listings) are the makers' numbers, not ours.
This guide contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. See our disclosure.
A fountain is a convenience item: a tank, a pump and a filter that keep a bowl of water topped up and moving. What separates one from another is mostly how big the tank is, what the bowl is made of, and what the upkeep looks like.
The four below range from 5L to 15L. We compare them on what the listings state. Prices change often on Amazon, so we do not print one here; check the live price and the return window on the listing before you buy.

oneisall 7L Dog Water Fountain
oneisall 7L: 304 stainless steel, a water window and low-water LED, a 2-year warranty per the listing.
See price
SIBAYS 4-Gallon Dog Water Fountain
SIBAYS 4-Gallon: a 15L tank, with filters listed for replacement every 1 to 3 weeks.
See price
GROOKPET 7L Dog Water Fountain
GROOKPET 7L: a carrying handle and a water tray the listing says was deepened for large dogs.
See price
PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum Fountain
PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum: a 5L plastic fountain with adjustable flow, described for small dogs and mixed homes.
See priceCompare our picks
| Item | Best for | Price | Bottom line | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best Overall | $$ | A 7L stainless steel fountain with a water-level window and a 2-year warranty. Confirm the filter count and your space before you order. | See price | |
| Largest Tank | $$$ | The biggest tank in the group, with the heaviest filter schedule on the listing. Price the filters first. | See price | |
| Handle and Deeper Tray | $$ | A 7L stainless steel fountain with a handle and a deeper tray. Check the parts supply and the seller before you buy. | See price | |
| PetSafe Pick for Small Dogs | $$ | The PetSafe pick, described in the listing for cats, small dogs and multi-pet homes. | See price |
How to choose a dog water fountain
Start with the tank and the upkeep. A bigger tank gives you more days between refills, and the filter schedule tells you what the fountain will cost to keep running. Then check the material, the listed noise level and the space it needs.
Five checks before you choose
- Tank size: from 5L to 15L across these four, against how many pets drink from it
- Material: stainless steel or plastic, as the listing states it
- Filters: how many come in the box, how often the listing says to replace them and what they cost
- Noise: the maker's listed figure, if there is one
- Space: where a fountain of that size will sit, and whether parts for it are easy to find
The best overall pick: oneisall 7L
The oneisall is a 7L, 304 stainless steel fountain with a water-level window and a red LED that signals low water. The listing gives 5-layer filtration, a pump listed at under 25 dB, a dishwasher-safe bowl and a 2-year warranty, and says the tank lasts about a week for multiple dogs and cats.
Who should skip it: anyone with little space, or anyone who wants to know the filter count in advance, since the title says three filter sets and the feature list says two replacement filters.

oneisall 7L Dog Water Fountain
A 7L, 304 stainless steel fountain with a water-level window, a low-water LED, 5-layer filtration, a pump listed under 25 dB and a 2-year warranty.
The largest tank: SIBAYS 4-Gallon
The SIBAYS holds 15L (4 gallons) in a stainless steel drinking surface, with a water window, an LED that turns red when it is time to top up, dry-run protection per the listing and a pump listed under 25 dB. The listing says a full tank lasts a large dog or a multi-pet home 10 to 15 days between refills.
Who should skip it: anyone who does not want a regular filter purchase, since the listing says to replace the filter every 1 to 3 weeks, or anyone short on space for a 15L fountain.

SIBAYS 4-Gallon Dog Water Fountain
A 15L (4 gallon) stainless steel fountain with a water window, a low-water LED, dry-run protection per the listing and a pump listed under 25 dB. The listing says to change the filter every 1 to 3 weeks.
With a handle and a deeper tray: GROOKPET 7L
The GROOKPET is another 7L, 304 stainless steel fountain, with a transparent water-level window, a carrying handle and a water tray that the listing says was deepened for large dogs. It uses 4-stage filtration and an IPX8-rated pump listed at 25 dB.
Who should skip it: anyone who wants replacement parts to be easy to find, since the listing points to GROOKPET-branded filters and pumps, or anyone who prefers to check the seller first, because it is sold by a third party.

GROOKPET 7L Dog Water Fountain
A 7L, 304 stainless steel fountain with a water-level window, a carrying handle, a deepened tray, 4-stage filtration and an IPX8-rated pump listed at 25 dB.
The PetSafe pick for small dogs: Drinkwell Platinum
The Drinkwell Platinum is a 5L (168 oz) fountain in BPA-free plastic with a free-falling stream, adjustable flow, a replaceable carbon filter plus a pre-filter and a receiving ramp that the listing says reduces splashing. Its parts are top-rack dishwasher safe, with the pump excluded, and the listing cites phone, email and chat support.
Who should skip it: anyone with a large dog, since the listing describes it for cats, small dogs or multi-pet homes, anyone who wants stainless steel, or anyone who needs it outdoors, because the listing says indoor use only.

PetSafe Drinkwell Platinum Fountain
A 5L (168 oz) plastic fountain with a free-falling stream, adjustable flow, a carbon filter with a pre-filter and a splash-reducing ramp. Described for cats, small dogs or multi-pet homes, indoor use only.
How the four fountains compare
The fastest way to choose: match the tank size to your home, then check the filter row.
| oneisall 7L | SIBAYS 15L | GROOKPET 7L | Drinkwell Platinum | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tank | 7L / 230 oz | 15L / 4 gal | 7L / 236 oz | 5L / 168 oz |
| Material | 304 stainless steel | SUS304 stainless steel | 304 stainless steel | BPA-free plastic |
| Pump noise (listing) | Under 25 dB | Under 25 dB | 25 dB | Not stated |
| Filters | 5-layer; count differs in the listing | 5-layer; change every 1 to 3 weeks | 4-stage; replacement parts under the GROOKPET name, per the listing | Carbon filter plus pre-filter |
| Described for | Multi-pet homes | Large dogs and multi-pet homes | Large dogs and multi-pet homes | Cats, small dogs, multi-pet homes |
| Price level (editorial) | Mid-range | Premium | Mid-range | Mid-range |
Prices vary by color and current Amazon promotions, and replacement filters are a separate cost. Check the real price on the product page before buying, we don't display fixed prices here.
Frequently asked questions
How big a fountain do I need?
The four listings run from 5L to 15L. The SIBAYS listing says its 15L tank lasts a large dog or a multi-pet home 10 to 15 days, and the oneisall listing says its 7L tank lasts about a week for multiple pets. Your own timing depends on how many pets drink from it.
Do dog water fountains need filters?
All four listings describe a filter system. The SIBAYS listing says to replace its filter every 1 to 3 weeks, and the others list replacement filters or parts, so check what they cost before you order.
Are these fountains quiet?
Three of the listings give a pump noise of 25 dB or under, and the Drinkwell listing does not state a number. Those are the makers' figures; we have not measured them.
Can I use a dog fountain outdoors?
The Drinkwell listing says indoor use only, and the oneisall and GROOKPET listings describe their fountains as indoor ones. Check the listing before using any fountain outdoors.
Can I return a fountain if it does not suit my home?
Check the return window and conditions on the Amazon listing before buying, especially for a large 15L fountain, which is bulky to send back.
How this guide was built
- 4 picks compared using Amazon listings and what customers write in their reviews. We don't physically test products.
- Price and availability, when shown, come live from Amazon with the time they were last checked.
- No brand pays to be featured or ranked higher. We earn a commission on qualifying purchases.
- Last updated October 2026.